We connect patients with leading edge treatments for PTSD, but we add an additional layer of care by partnering with physicians who are board-certified, and fellowship trained, you so you know the level of care they provide meets the highest standard.

What does it mean for a physician to be board-certified?

It’s a step beyond obtaining a medical license and demonstrates the physician has met the requirements of a recognized medical board for certification, but that’s not a super helpful explanation without understanding what a medical license and medical board is.

When a student completes medical school, they receive a doctorate degree and earn the title of doctor, but their education is far from over. The next step in their training is a residency program. These can range from an additional 2 to 7-years of training, depending on the specialty. For example, a family practice residency will be 2-years while a surgical residency may last 5 to 7-years.

Physicians are required to obtain a medical license for every state they wish to practice in. The process includes examinations, training, education, and fees.

Who are the fellows?

Fellows are doctors in fellowship training; an in-depth program physicians go through after residency in order to become a specialist. A fellowship is not required medical training and is actually a privilege that the best candidates are granted.

Fellowship training is a higher level of accomplishment and training to the already extensive medical education. During this training, physicians are given the opportunity to focus on studying their branch of medicine with greater depth and those who lead the fellowships are regarded as the most skilled and highly respected physicians in their field. A fellowship trained doctor has truly learned from the best in their specialty.

When you read a physician is fellowship-trained, you know they have an extensive level of background knowledge and experience in their field.

Obtaining board-certification, the “gold standard”

Prior to obtaining board-certification a physician must complete a fellowship program in their specialty or provide proof of substantial training and experience in that specialty. Often the second scenario happens when a physician has been practicing in a specialty since before fellowship training existed for it.

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) created a set of minimum competencies they call the “gold standard” and other certification entities have similar sets of standards. This is speaks to the level of confidence we want everyone suffering PTSD to have in the care they’ll receive.

Stellate Ganglion Block

PTSD patient information guide

Receive our FREE Patient Information Guide instantly!

Join Warriors & Survivors Enjoying Our Information